You are here

The Commonwealth of Dominica is the largest (790 km2) and most northerly of the Windward Islands in the Lesser Antilles is situated between the French islands of Martinique and Guadeloupe. The island, the most mountainous of the Eastern Caribbean islands, is volcanically formed and is considered by the regional Seismic Research Unit as the most seismically active location in the region (UWI, Seismic Research Unit - Volcanic Hazard Report for South Dominica). Dominica has eight active volcanoes and is heavily forested (65%) with a large rainforest, and an abundance of rivers.

According to the 2011 Population Census, the population was 71, 293. Since the island gained independence in 1978, it adopted the Westminster model of government and continues to be centrally administered with a parliament.